Author Topic: Garmin 396  (Read 327 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Online denislordm

  • CB500X Pro
  • ***
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 208
  • Bike: CB500x
  • Country: gb
Garmin 396
on: June 05, 2020, 10:56:21 AM
Guys I have just got a Garmin zumo 396 Its OK and operates very similar too my previous model.

ONE issue with it - It wont let me use the buttons and adjust while riding, its locked.

I have read and re-read manual but cant find how to unlock it -

Is this a feature of latest models

Any advice please.

Offline ncroadtoad

  • CB500X Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 338
  • Bike: 2013 CB500X
  • Country: us
Re: Garmin 396
Reply #1 on: June 05, 2020, 11:47:27 AM
I'm not sure what you mean by the "buttons" denislordm. I've had a 396 for about a year now and the only button is the on/off one. As to the functionality of the touchscreen while riding, no issues with mine. It's fully usable while underway.
Just damn happy to be here...

Online denislordm

  • CB500X Pro
  • ***
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 208
  • Bike: CB500x
  • Country: gb
Re: Garmin 396
Reply #2 on: June 05, 2020, 11:56:34 AM
Yep better words touch screen
 I can't get it to accept e.g. if I check history it highlights on touch then does nothing - i can view map or return to home screen and back again but that's it.
All other functionality is fine.

Offline ncroadtoad

  • CB500X Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 338
  • Bike: 2013 CB500X
  • Country: us
Re: Garmin 396
Reply #3 on: June 05, 2020, 12:33:41 PM
I don't see a history icon on my device. I have Service History, Tracks, TracBack under my Apps folder and Recent under the Where To screen. What are you trying to get the device to do?
Just damn happy to be here...

Online denislordm

  • CB500X Pro
  • ***
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 208
  • Bike: CB500x
  • Country: gb
Re: Garmin 396
Reply #4 on: June 05, 2020, 12:47:00 PM
If you click on where to go it brings up a number of icons one of those is a clock face named history that shows a list of places entered and searched for in the past - if I touch that it highlights but does not activate just stays same.
My issue is that while I am riding none of the functions will work it is blocked in someway - if stop and switch off so the power is cut to battery only everything functions correctly. So the issue is finding how to unlock this problem.

Offline ncroadtoad

  • CB500X Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 338
  • Bike: 2013 CB500X
  • Country: us
Re: Garmin 396
Reply #5 on: June 05, 2020, 01:10:44 PM
Under Settings/Device, make sure that you have Travel History checked.
Under Settings/Navigation, make sure that Restricted Mode is not checked
Just damn happy to be here...

Online denislordm

  • CB500X Pro
  • ***
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 208
  • Bike: CB500x
  • Country: gb
Re: Garmin 396
Reply #6 on: June 05, 2020, 01:24:19 PM
Hiya
Just found out that very point I had previously unchecked it but with all messing about and getting used to this new GPS I must have checked it again - issue resolved thanks for your help.
Bit of a technophobe and banana fingers don't help.🤣

Online denislordm

  • CB500X Pro
  • ***
  • Topic Author
  • Posts: 208
  • Bike: CB500x
  • Country: gb
Re: Garmin 396
Reply #7 on: June 05, 2020, 01:26:41 PM
ISSUE RESOLVED thanks 👍

Offline ncroadtoad

  • CB500X Pro
  • ***
  • Posts: 338
  • Bike: 2013 CB500X
  • Country: us
Re: Garmin 396
Reply #8 on: June 05, 2020, 01:28:20 PM
You're welcome  :062:
Just damn happy to be here...

Offline Oyley

  • CB500X Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 522
  • Bike: CB500x 2019
  • Country: gb
Re: Garmin 396
Reply #9 on: June 05, 2020, 02:06:51 PM
As ncroadtoad says...Garmins I have had do have a setting to inhibit certain functions whilst in motion.

 



victorious-backstage