Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Stage 3 build stalled - ignition barrel bolts  (Read 3892 times)

Offline surfsofa

• CB500X Member
    • View Profile
  • Bike: CB500XA & Buell
  • City / Town: Bay Area
Stage 3 build stalled - ignition barrel bolts
« on: March 20, 2016, 08:38:10 PM »
It was all going fairly smoothly. Got the rear end done and then this morning started on the front, using a combination of the RR instructions and Juan's awesome videos.

I don't know what Juan did differently, but my ignition barrel security bolts aren't budging. I've blunted TWO cobalt drill bits and still can't get the bolts out.  :157:

Now admittedly I've never done anything like this before (as is the case with almost every job in this build), but I'm still amazed how difficult it is. I guess it is a security feature after all.

Rather than keep throwing money at tools I have no idea about I've abandoned and will take the bike to a shop to get this done. Question to those who may know: Is there anything to stop me riding the bike without the front shroud/instruments attached? I only need to go a couple of miles to get to a shop and don't want to be fitting/unfitting.

I'm sure riding with a RR rear shock and stock front will be fun  :002:

Offline OldForter

• CB500X Pro
    • View Profile
  • Bike: 2014 CB500XA
  • City / Town: Edmonton
Re: Stage 3 build stalled - ignition barrel bolts
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2016, 03:33:19 AM »
Been there. I used a masonry bit after burning two cobalt bits. Took less than 10 minutes. Also the bit is cheaper. Perhaps try this before taking to the shop.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2016, 03:35:50 AM by OldForter »

Offline surfsofa

• CB500X Member
    • View Profile
  • Bike: CB500XA & Buell
  • City / Town: Bay Area
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2016, 03:17:29 AM »