Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Almost the end of the mods.  (Read 1920 times)

Offline Matra2

• CB500X Member
    • View Profile
  • City / Town: Sydney
Almost the end of the mods.
« on: June 12, 2019, 12:44:39 PM »

Hello to All,

This is my 2016 500X which I have been playing with for the last two years. The bike has had couple of previous appearances here but as I have only some minor things left to do so I thought I would post a product & service review. I am Sydney, Australia and the bike is primarily used as my daily commuter. I have sourced parts from the USA, England, Europe and couldnt have done it without Ebay and the various hardware sourced from China. If I had to find the bolts, springs, plastic caps etc here Id still be going. Everything, except for three, non-visible, holes drilled for the chain oiler, is reversible. Ill try to start from the beginning.

Centre stand, genuine, out of the States, invaluable for servicing and a level working platform.

Chain guard / rear hugger, genuine, from local dealer. Neat and helps keeps the bike cleaner.

Removed rear foot rests, they are quite heavy and I dont carry pillion passengers.
Bought a used foot rest bracket for exhaust and cut of excess material, polished and coated with clear.

Replaced the original, heavy & quiet muffler with a Fuel exhaust. Delighted with the product and the service. I like the appearance, size and the sound. I use the Db killer and the sound is a nice rumble. Volume dependant on throttle position. No increase in performance that I could notice. And a stop rubber for the centre stand when in the raised position

Installed a Tutoro chain oiler.  I went to more trouble doing my engineered fitment along the swing arm then necessary but was generally happy with the installation.  Set and forget other than adding oil.  I would recommend this kit as chain and sprocket wear is greatly reduced.